Stayin’ Cool When Things Heat up

We are getting a little heat up here in Michigan today.  And humidity!  That’s close to “humility”, but not the same, I guess.  Being from Brussels, I get a little confused with these English words.  Well, I was born in the US, moved to Canada for a bit, and am now in the US again, so would that make me a Brussels sprout?  I feel like I could be from Brussels.  Oh, Crikey!  I always get off on the wrong foot in these posts.

Where were we?  It’s hot.  And humid.  We are trying to stay cool in the best way we know how.  Mom hung fans over the horse stalls a few nights ago.  They can go in their stalls, eat, drink, and be cool and fly-free.  I’m sure they are happy little campers (if 1000+ pounds can be considered little).

We dogs stay in the cool house.  Air-conditioning is a wonderful thing.  I endorse it wholeheartedly.  And if that’s not enough, every time I get a drink (and I drink a lot of times in a day), I get it out of Atti’s dish.  For whatever reason, Atticus has the water dish to beat all water dishes.  It’s for a really big dog.  Which makes sense, as Atti is a really big dog.  But for a little guy like me, it’s not just a drinker, it’s a swimming pool!

Every time I need a slurp of water, I walk to the dish and continue right on through until I’m standing stock in the middle of it.  Oh, man, but that cool water feels good on my paws and legs.  No one driving by our house would know we have an indoor pool!  What an invention.  The person who thought to make large bowls like that is to be commended.

It helps Mom out, too, since she doesn’t have to wonder if I’m drinking enough.  She takes one look at the trail of wet going out of the dish, through the house and, yup, she knows I’m getting plenty to drink!

Mom is looking more exasperated each time I drink.  Must be the heat getting to her.

About onecoolgriff

Hello to all my friends! My name is Rambo and I'm a Petite Brussels Griffon living in Michigan. My family is a bit diverse, and we love all the exciting things that can happen when you live in a small zoo. Included in my family are five dogs (two more Griffs, although Pearlie Blue is really a Pug-Griff I think, and Jemmie the diva; Atticus the Rottweiler aka Atticus the Bratticus, and Buddy the incredibly-old-but-still-getting-around whatever kind of dog), two cats that the peeps call Barn Cats, making them a bit more mysterious than a "regular" cat; three VERY BIG horses, and of course my two peeps, Mom an Dad. I love being a little Griff in a big world. Everyday is an adventure and my job is to find the usual things and make them unusual. Never a problem! I'll be sure to let you know whenever I find something new and exciting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stayin’ Cool When Things Heat up

  1. Bassas Blog says:

    I like the sound of your indoor pool Rambo. I suppose the equivalent for me would be a bath – there is no way I could stand in my water bowl! 🙂

    • onecoolgriff says:

      With all your glorious hair I’m sure your peeps would be less than enthusiastic if you strolled through your water dish every time you drank!!! It wouldn’t take long and you’d be in the dog house, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

